Add and Deactivate Users
  • 12 May 2022
  • 5 Minutes To Read
  • PDF

Add and Deactivate Users

  • PDF

REQUIRED USER ROLE
Administrator

Add and deactivate users, assign and change user roles, assign users to Inboxes, and more through the Users settings page.

Roles and Responsibilities

A Gladly user is someone inside your company whose job is to help Customers, manage teams, or manage Gladly. Every user should be assigned a role — or multiple roles — to determine their access to Gladly's different capabilities.

Permissions are attached to Roles, which determine what a user can do. For example, the Administrator role has abundant rights (add, edit, update, and delete), whereas a Team Manager role has rights limited to certain Gladly features. The role with the highest permission set supersedes roles with fewer permissions. If you have an Agent + Administrator role assigned to you, you'll have access to the Administrator permission set.

See the table below for permissions attached to each role. Scroll the table horizontally to see more columns.

PermissionsLiveboards OnlyDeveloper4API User1Answer AdministratorTask5 UserAnalyst3AgentAgent PlusTeam ManagerAdministratorCompliance Administrator2 
Conversations










View Customer Profiles




Add, Edit Customer Profiles



Create Notes




Play Voice Recordings




Add, Edit, Assign Tasks to Users/Inboxes




Assign Customers to Users/Inboxes




View Answers



Respond to Customers





Reports UI










Create, Download OOTB Reports







Create Reports, Dashboards With Insight Buildera









Access Shared Reports From Insight Builderb






Run, Schedule Reports







Reports (Settings)










Manage Scheduled Reports







Delete Scheduled Reports







Listen, Coach, and Join Calls










Listen to, Coach, or Join Live Calls






Answers (Settings)










Add Answer Languages






Add Audience






Add, Edit Help Center






Add, Edit Keyword Groups






Add, Edit Answers, and Revision History







Topics (Settings)










Add, Edit, Deactivate Topics






Agent Experience (Settings)










Add, Edit, Delete Relationships








Add, Edit, Deactivate Away Reasons








Edit Idle Timing







Routing (Settings)










Add, Edit, Deactivate Rules








Channels (Settings)










Add, Configure Channels and Entry Points








Edit IVR Phone Numbers








Add, Edit Sidekick








Control Incoming Chat Volume








Create, Edit, Publish IVR Updates








Add, Edit, Delete Outreach Campaigns








Inbox (Settings)










Add, Remove Users from Inboxes







Activate, Deactivate Inboxes







User Management (Settings)










Add, Edit, Deactivate Users. 








View Users List 







Create and Assign Skills








Create and Edit Teams







Configure and Manage SSO








Liveboards










View Liveboards


API










Use APIs and Add Webhooks









Compliance










Download, Delete Call Recordings









Delete Conversation Attachments









Delete Contacts and Customer Profiles









Configure Data Retention Settings and Export Customer Data









View Compliance Event Logs











Others










Add New Apps







Use Lookup Adapter Debugger Tools







Assign Dedicated Hero





Tip - Billing based on user role
Information on how each user role is defined as "billable" is described on the Invoices and Billing page.

Add Users to Gladly

There are two ways to add users to Gladly:

  • Add user (s) individually
  • Bulk CSV upload

The method you choose depends mainly on the number of users you want to invite. If you're adding one or two users, then adding them one at a time would be easier. However, if you're looking to add twenty, or hundreds of users, a bulk upload is the faster, more efficient way to go.

Note - Account invitations expire in 24 hours
Resend an invitation if the previous one expired.

Add individual users

  1. Click the menu icon on the top left corner of the screen.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Under the People category, click Users. The Users page will show you a list of all of your Gladly users. For ease, you can also see a preview of roles assigned to users, the number of Teams and Inboxes they belong to, and their account status.
    • Use the search feature to find users by name, email, or role quickly.
    • Sort the Name, Email, Roles, Teams, Inboxes, and Status columns by clicking the header name.
  4. Click Add User.
  5. Complete the following fields on the Add User page:
    • Email – Enter the user's email address. This is also used to invite them to Gladly.
    • Name – Enter the user's full name.
    • Roles – Check the box next to the role(s) that apply to this user. If an incompatible combination of roles is selected, the affected roles are automatically unchecked. See Roles and Responsibilities to learn more about each role.
    • Inboxes – Assign/unassign Inbox(es) to the user. 
      • Use the search feature to search all of your available Inboxes.
      • Every Inbox the user is assigned to appears below the search bar. To unassign an Inbox, click X.
      • An Inbox that has since been deactivated Inbox but is still assigned to an Agent appears as Inbox Name (deactivated).
    • Teams – Assign the user to a Team(s). 
      • Create and Manage Teams to learn more.
      • Leave blank if you're not using Teams.
      • Every Team the user is assigned to appears below the search bar. To unassign a Team, click X.
    • Skills – Assign relevant skill(s) for use with People Match
      • Leave blank if you're not using Skills.
      • Every skill the user is assigned appears below the search bar. To unassign a skill, click X.
      • See What is Skills to learn more about Skills and how it's used to enhance People Match.
  6. Click Add User. This will take you back to the Users page, where the user you invited is added with the status Invite Sent.

User Status

There are four different statuses a user may have on the Users page under the Status column.

  • Invited Expired – An invitation was sent but has since expired. Invites expire in 24 hours, but a new invitation can be resent.
  • Deactivated – The user has been deactivated.
  • Invite Sent – An invitation has been sent to the user.
  • Blank – The user is active in Gladly.

Upload users in bulk 

Instead of adding users one at a time, you can upload users in bulk through the Upload CSV feature.

Invite users through SSO

See Single Sign-On for additional information on how to set up and invite uses via SSO.

Deactivate user account

Deactivate a user's account when they leave your company or no longer need access to Gladly.

  1. Click on the menu icon located in the top left corner of your screen.
  2. Click More Settings located under Settings.
  3. Under People, click Users.
  4. Use the search feature to find the user you need to deactivate. Hover over the user you want to deactivate, click the kebab icon (three dots) to the right of the page, then click Edit User.
  5. Under the Status section, mark the User as Deactivated. This option only appears for existing users.
  6. Click Save.

What happens to Conversations and Tasks when a user is deactivated

  • Open and Waiting – Conversations in Open and Waiting state when an Agent is deactivated are automatically unassigned from the deactivated Agent and go back as a New Conversation to re-route to another Agent. The Conversation Timeline of re-routed Conversations due to the deactivation will say "Routed from <agent> to <channel> because <agent> were deactivated" to indicate the Conversation was re-routed because of the user deactivation.
  • Closed – If a Customer replies to a closed Conversation within the Conversation reopen window or an email reply is routed to the same Agent recently deactivated, the Conversation goes back as a New Conversation and re-routes to another Agent.
  • Tasks – Open Tasks are re-queued in the same Inbox that Task to be assigned to another Agent.




  • 1API User role must be combined with another role like Team Manager, Administrator, or Compliance Administrator role to access the More Settings page. Furthermore, API Users cannot log into Gladly without another accompanying role.
  • 2Compliance Administrator enhances the Administrator role with access to Data Retention settings.
  • 3Analyst role is made available upon activation of Insight Builder which is a feature add-on.
  • 4Developer role is limited to accessing Lookup Adapter Debugger and Apps. Assign Agent or Administrator role with Developer to provide access to Search or to create Customer Profiles.
  • 5Task User role cannot be combined with other roles.
  • aInsight Builder is an add-on feature.
  • bInsight Builder is an add-on feature. Shared dashboards are only available if Insight Builder is active. Team Managers and Administrator user roles can view shared dashboards/reports built by Analysts.

Was This Doc Helpful?