Next and Close & Next Button Behavior
  • 16 Nov 2022
  • 2 Minutes To Read
  • PDF

Next and Close & Next Button Behavior

  • PDF

The Next and Close & Next buttons are critical to managing the status of your Conversations and the ability to receive new Customer requests. It's important to understand that the behavior and name of the Close & Next buttons vary based on certain scenarios. 

Tip - Receiving phone calls after clicking 'Close & Next' or 'Next'
If you're available for Voice (the button is green), clicking Close & Next or Next overrides the After Call Work value and routes the next phone call. Clicking Close closes the current Conversation and routes the next call waiting based on the After Call Work value.

A  Next

The Next button by the availability controls is constant, and the functionality does not change. Clicking the Next option here will always take you to the next Customer request without closing your current Conversation. Use this option if:

  • You want to work on a new Customer without closing the Conversation with the current one.
  • You want to switch to another Conversation without closing the Conversation with the current one.

B - Close & Next / Next / End & Close

The Close & Next button on the bottom right of the Customer Profile screen is dynamic. Depending on the activity and Channel you are working in, the name and behavior of this button will vary.

Watch Out - Close & Next option
Pay attention to your selection! You may be thinking you are selecting Close & Next but, in fact, selecting Next, which would not close your Conversation. See the variables below for more information.

Close & Next Variable Names

The main driver for these variables are the activities completed in the Conversation. For example, let's say you received a spam email that doesn't require an Agent response, but because Gladly doesn't know the email is spam, you will see the Next option because Gladly is expecting a reply to be sent to the Customer.

Close & Next 

Close & Next appears in Emails, Calls, Tasks, Notes, SMS, Facebook Messenger, Whatsapp, and Twitter.

  • Closes your current Conversation and gives you the next Customer that needs assistance.
  • If you click Close & Next and there is no reply to the Customer, you will be asked to confirm your action to close the Conversation without replying.
  • Click the carrot arrow icon to see more options:
    • Next Move on to help the next Customer while keeping the current Conversation open.
    • Close Close the current Conversation without immediately receiving a new Customer to work with.

Next 

Next only appears for Voicemails.

  • Keeps your current Conversation open and you are assigned a new Customer to work with.
  • Click the carrot arrow icon to see more options:
    • Close & Next – Close the current Conversation and receive a new Customer to work with.
    • Close Close the current Conversation without immediately receiving a new Customer to work with.

End & Close 

End & Close only appears for Chat.

  • Ends and closes the chat Conversation. As long as you are available in the messaging Channel, you will continue to receive incoming chat requests.
  • Agents can also use the No Reply Needed option to end a chat that doesn't require additional follow-up. This will clear the SLA for the chat.
  • Click the carrot arrow icon to see more options:
    • End Ends the chat session but doesn't close the Conversation. This usually means you are not able to solve the request and will require additional follow-up.
Tip - How Routing works
See Capacity Workload for an explanation of how Voice, Messaging, and Mail/Tasks are routed based on Channel availability.



Was this article helpful?