Help the Next Customer
  • 27 Jan 2023
  • 1 Minute To Read
  • PDF

Help the Next Customer

  • PDF

Once a Customer's questions or issues have been resolved, click Close & Next or Next to help the next Customer waiting for assistance. Clicking Close & Next closes the current Conversation and routes you the next Customer waiting in Inboxes you're assigned to. Clicking Next leaves the Conversation open and keeps the Customer in your My Customers list, and routes you the next Customer waiting for assistance.

Don't forget to manage your availability in the appropriate Channel(s) to receive (or stop receiving) Customers waiting in those Channels.

Tip - Get to know the 'Close' and 'Close & Next' buttons
Clicking either of these buttons after helping a Customer ensures you're routed the next Customer waiting in Inboxes you're assigned to, so they are helped in a timely manner. See Next and Close & Next Buttons Behaviors to better understand how it works.

Customer issue is not yet solved but you are ready to work on a new Customer

Click Next adjacent to the Availability Controls. This keeps the current Conversation open while allowing you to receive a new Customer to work with.

  • You can also click Next on the bottom right corner of the Customer Profile.

If you want to close the Conversation, click the up caret icon, then click Close & Next.

Open Conversations

Customers assigned to you with open Conversations appear on your My Customers list.

You’ve solved the Customer’s issues and you're ready to help a new Customer

Click Close & Next from the bottom right corner of the Customer Profile. This will mark the Conversation as Closed, then Gladly will route you the next Customer waiting in Inboxes you're assigned to based on the Channel(s) you're available in.

You’ve solved the Customer’s issues but you're not ready to help a new Customer

You have multiple options to stop any new incoming requests from coming through after you close a Conversation.

  • If you remain available on any Channels, you can decline new requests being sent to you. Declining incoming requests will stop Gladly from routing requests to you, but this could impact your availability-related metrics. 
  • Toggle your availability status to make yourself unavailable.
  • Click Close on the bottom right corner of the Customer Profile screen by clicking the up caret icon. While this will not immediately route you the next Customer, based on Channel(s) you're available for, a phone call or chats could still get routed to you.



Was this article helpful?