- 30 Mar 2022
- 2 Minutes To Read
Data Subject Requests
- Updated On 30 Mar 2022
- 2 Minutes To Read
Available in eLearning format in the Academy
How data is deleted
There are three levels of Customer data management and deletion from the Gladly UI that users assigned the Compliance Administrator role can manage.
- Platform Level – Global setting that controls how long Customer Profile data is retained in Gladly.
- Customer Profile Level – Delete individual Customer Profiles and all data contained in the Profile.
- Contact Level – Delete data on a Contact level (i.e., a message, an attachment, etc.) without deleting the Profile.
What is deleted
Platform level deletion
Automatically delete Customer Profiles after a <customizable> number of days has passed since the last Contact. Data that gets deletes includes the Customer Profile and everything contained within, which includes:
- Contact/Personal details
- Order History
- Integration data
We only delete data stored within Gladly. Additional data pulled to Gladly from an external app (e.g., Shopify, Stella, etc.) gets deleted along with the Customer Profile, but it does not delete data in the connected app.
Customer Profile level deletion
Individual deletion of Profiles deletes everything contained in the Profile. This includes:
- Customer Details (e.g., phone numbers, addresses, email addresses, relationships, etc.)
- Integration data in Gladly (e.g., CSAT feedback, NPS feedback, order history, etc.)
- Note – Data is deleted in Gladly but not from any integrated apps (e.g., Stella Connects, Shopify, etc.).
- Attachments (e.g., documents, files, images, etc.)
Contact level deletion
The selected object or Contact deleted is the only item deleted. This includes:
- An individual message
- A voice recording
- An attachment
Use the table below to understand the best action to take when you have Customers who want their data deleted.
|A Customer requests for their data to be deleted entirely. Order history, contact records, and Conversations.||Delete Customer Profile||Order history stored in an OMS outside of Gladly (e.g., Shopify) is not deleted.|
|A Customer accidentally sent PII in an email, an SMS, a chat, etc.||Delete Contact|
|A Customer accidentally attached an image with PII or financial information.||Delete Attachment|
|A Customer doesn't want any data about them stored (e.g., email, chat, etc.) after their interaction with your company is over.||Delete Customer Profile|
|Someone sends a message via Instagram Messaging to inquire about a product, but they ask you not to store any information about them.||Delete Customer Profile|
|You want to ensure that all Customer data is stored unless a Customer asks for their data to be deleted.||Update Default Setting for Data Retention|
|You want to make sure Customer data is not stored forever||Update Custom Setting for Data Retention|
|I need to delete more than 50 Customer Profiles at the same time.||Send an email firstname.lastname@example.org||Our privacy team will only honor bulk deletion requests with greater than 50 Customer Profiles that need to be deleted.|
See Configure Data Retention Settings and Data Deletion Options to learn how to delete Customer data.