Create, Edit, and Deactivate Inboxes
  • 22 Jun 2022
  • 3 Minutes To Read
  • PDF

Create, Edit, and Deactivate Inboxes

  • PDF

REQUIRED USER ROLE 
Administrator, Team Manager

Create and edit Inboxes based on your company's routing and assignment needs. Once created, you can assign Agents to Inboxes and set the Inbox SLA. Use the Entry Points settings page to link your Channel Entry Points to specific Inboxes.

Create an Inbox

  1. Click the menu icon on the top left corner of the screen.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Under the Orchestration category, click Inboxes. The Inboxes page will show you a list of Inboxes you currently have.
  4. Click Create Inbox button on the top right of the screen.
  5. Complete the following fields:
    • Name – Enter the name for the Inbox (required)
    • Service Level Agreement (SLA)  Enter the SLA (in minutes) for the Inbox (required).
    • Agents – Assign the Agents that will be members of the Inbox. Use the search feature to find Agents by name or email address.
      • Agents appear below the search bar as they're added. To remove an Agent from an Inbox, click X.
    • Default 'From' Contact Address – This section contains Channel options you currently have active. Below the Channel, you want to set a default "from" option, click the drop-down list, and make a selection,
  6. Click Save.

Next, go to the Entry Points settings page and link the Inbox to the appropriate Channel Entry Point(s). This routes incoming Customer requests from a particular Channel to the new Inbox.

Activate or deactivate an Inbox

If you no longer need an Inbox after a period (e.g., the Inbox is no longer proving useful or was created by mistake), Administrators can deactivate an Inbox. Doing so prevents Agents from accidentally assigning Conversations, Tasks, or phone calls to an irrelevant or outdated inbox.

Note - Take note of the following before deactivating an Inbox
  • Reopened Conversations may still be assigned to the deactivated Inbox.
  • Make sure to update Channels and Rules so that there are no Conversations that auto-route to a deactivated Inbox.
  • Reopened Conversations in a deactivated Inbox will still be routed to Agents assigned to the deactivated Inbox.

  1. Click the menu icon located on the top left corner of the screen.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Under the Orchestration category, click Inboxes. The Inboxes page will show you a list of Inboxes you currently have.
  4. Hover over the Inbox and click the pencil icon.
  5. Click the radio button next to Deactivated, then click Save.
    • To activate an Inbox, click Active, then Save.
    • Note – An Inbox linked to at least one Entry Point cannot be deactivated. You must first unlink the Inbox from any Entry Point before you can deactivate the Inbox.

Once deactivated, Team Managers and Administrators see deactivated Inboxes appear under Deactivated Inboxes on their homepage. Make sure that you have no active Conversations in these Inboxes.

  • Channels, Rules Users pages  If an Inbox is deactivated, it will be removed from the Inbox list, so those Inboxes aren't used by mistake. If a deactivated Inbox is in a Rule or is associated with a Channel or user, it will still work as if the Inbox is still active.
  • Conversation and Task Assignment Menu  Deactivated Inboxes are removed from the Inbox list so that those Inboxes aren't used. If a deactivated Inbox has an open Conversation or Task in it, it will still get routed.
Note - Inboxes cannot be deleted
Once created, Inboxes can only be deactivated but not deleted.

Edit an Inbox

  1. Click the menu icon located on the top left corner of the screen.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Under the Orchestration category, click Inboxes. The Inboxes page will show you a list of Inboxes you currently have.
  4. Hover over the Inbox you want to change the default "from" option in. To the right, click the pencil icon.
  5. You can edit the following details:
    • Name – Enter the name for the Inbox (required)
    • Service Level Agreement (SLA)  Enter the SLA (in minutes) for the Inbox (required)
    • Add Agents – Assign the Agents that will be members of the Inbox. Use the search feature to find Agents by name or email address.
      • Agents appear below the search bar. To remove an Agent from an Inbox, click X.
    • Default 'From' Contact Address – This section lists all Channel options, including ones you don't support. Under the Channel, you want to set a default "from" option, click the drop-down list, and make a selection. Select None for Channels you don't support.
  6. Click Save.

Was this article helpful?