View, Edit, and Delete Shared or Personal Dashboards
  • 30 Mar 2022
  • 4 Minutes To Read
  • PDF

View, Edit, and Delete Shared or Personal Dashboards

  • PDF

REQUIRED USER ROLE
Analyst

Analysts can edit a report for many reasons. This could be changing the metrics used in the report, updating formulas, changing filters, changing visualizations, or simply moving it to a different dashboard. 


Note - Dashboard edit options are only available if accessed through the report Builder UI
Reports and dashboards can't be edited if they're viewed from the Shared dashboard category. You must access the dashboard through the builder to be able to edit dashboards by clicking the four-square icon on the top right corner of the builder.

View Shared or Personal dashboard

Shared

Reports saved in a Group dashboard also appear in the Shared category on the Reports page. This is how non-analyst users who have access to Reports view shared Insight Builder reports.

Personal

Reports saved in a personal dashboard are only accessible and editable by the analyst who created the report. See edit personal dashboard to learn how to access and edit personal reports.

Edit report from a shared dashboard

  1. From the reports page, click Create a Report and pick any dataset.
  2. To the right of the builder, click the four-square icon.
  3. Click the shared icon (two users icon) and click the dashboard where the report is saved.
  4. On the top right corner of the screen, click the kebab icon (three dots) next to the folder icon, then click Edit Dashboard. This opens edit mode for all reports (tiles) in the dashboard.
  5. From the report you want to edit, hover over the report (tile) and click the kebab icon (three dots), then click Edit. This opens the builder experience for the report where you can make your changes.
  6. When you're done making changes, click Run to run the report. 
  7. Click Save when you're done.

Edit report from a personal dashboard

  1. From the reports page, click Create a Report and pick any dataset.
  2. To the right of the builder, click the four-square icon.
  3. Click the personal icon (single user icon), and click the personal dashboard where the report is saved.
  4. On the top right corner of the screen, click the kebab icon (three dots) next to the folder icon, then click Edit Dashboard. This opens edit mode for all reports (tiles) in the personal dashboard.
  5. Hover over the report (tile) you want to edit and click the kebab icon (three dots), then click Edit. This opens the builder experience for the report where you can make your changes.
  6. When you're done making changes, click Run to run the report. 
  7. Click Save.

Delete report

Watch Out - Deleted reports can't be restored
Make sure you no longer need the report before you delete it.

Delete report from a dashboard

  1. From the Reports page, click Create a Report and select any dataset.
  2. From the blank builder, click the four-square icon on the right side of the page. Select whether you need to delete a report in a shared or personal dashboard.
  3. Select the dashboard from the list of shared or personal dashboards.
  4. On the top right corner of the screen, click the kebab icon (three dots) next to the folder icon, then click Edit dashboard
  5. Find the report you want to delete. Hover over the report (tile), then click the kebab menu icon (three dots), then Delete.
  6. Click Save.

Delete dashboard

Keep in mind that deleting a dashboard also deletes all reports stored in the dashboard.

  1. From the Reports page, click Create a Report and select any dataset.
  2. From the blank builder, click the four-square icon on the right side of the page. Select whether you need to delete a shared or personal dashboard.
  3. Select the dashboard from the list of shared or personal dashboards.
  4. On the top right corner of the screen, click the kebab icon (three dots) next to the folder icon, then click Move to trash
  5. You'll be asked to confirm your request. Click Move to trash to confirm.

Deleted dashboards can't be restored through the UI. Contact Gladly Support if you need to restore a dashboard you deleted.

Rename report or dashboard

Rename report

  1. From the Reports page, click Create a Report and select any dataset.
  2. From the blank builder, click the four-square icon on the right side of the page. Select whether you need to rename a report in a personal or shared dashboard.
  3. Select the dashboard from the list of shared or personal dashboards.
  4. Click the kebab menu icon (three dots) to the right page when the dashboard opens, then click Edit dashboard
  5. Double-click the name of the report (tile) and enter a new name.
  6. Click Save.

Rename dashboard

  1. From the Reports page, click Create a Report and select any dataset.
  2. From the blank builder, click the four-square icon on the right side of the page. Select whether you need to rename a report in a personal or shared dashboard.
  3. Select the dashboard from the list of shared or personal dashboards.
  4. On the top right corner of the screen, click the kebab icon (three dots) next to the folder icon, then click Edit dashboard.
  5. Double-click the current dashboard name on the top left and enter a new name.
  6. Click Save.

Move report from personal to shared dashboard

There are two ways to move reports between a personal dashboard to a shared dashboard, and vice-versa.

Use the Move to feature (fastest)

Click Start to see the instructions.

Using the steps above, you can also move reports from a shared to a personal dashboard. Simply start by selecting your shared dashboard instead.

Resave the report to a group dashboard 

  1. From the Reports page, click Create a Report and select any dataset.
  2. From the blank builder, click the four-square icon on the right side of the page. 
  3. Click the personal icon (single user icon), and click the personal dashboard where the report is saved.
  4. From the report you want to edit, hover over the report (tile) and click the kebab icon (three dots), then click Explore from here. This opens the builder experience for the report where you can make your changes.
  5. Click the Gear icon on the top right corner of the builder, click Save, then click To an existing dashboard.
  6. Click Group.
  7. Click the group dashboard (shared) you want to save the report to.
  8. Click Save to Dashboard.

The steps above can be done to move reports in a shared dashboard to a personal one by clicking Group on step 3, then saving the report to a personal dashboard.


Was this article helpful?